The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Sensate Focus, Andy Stott, DJ Sprinkles, Biosphere, Evol and others added to Berlin's CTM festival

The third and final round of acts for Berlin's CTM festival has just been announced. Previously announced Mark Fell will be playing a set as Sensate Focus, and on top of two free shows Terre Thaemlitz will be playing as DJ Sprinkles. Also added to the-line up are Mark Archer (one half of rave duo Altern 8), plus Andy Stott, Biosphere, Shed, Shackleton, Frank Bretschneider performing Kippschwingung, Powell, Samuel Kerridge, Evol, Greco-Roman Soundsystem, Theo Burt of The Automatics Group, Lorenzo Senni, Alec Empire, and oud lute player Khyam Allami with percussionist Vasilis Sarikis.

Also added are T404, Pharoah Chromium, Günther Schickert, Bader Motor, Nicolas Metall, Ravi Shardja, Cavern of Anti-Matter, Nicolas Moulin, Mykki Blanco, Kuedo, Frederic Rzewski, Lower Order Ethics, Half Girl / Half Sick, Soundwalk Collective, Zip, Sammy Dee, Jörg Franzmann, Reznik, Opium Hum, A Cell of One and WOW.

On 28 January, the festival's opening night, a series of free shows takes place. Carsten Nicolai's Soundstudio students will be DJing at WAU, and Pulse Lab II – Works For Wave Field Synthesis, a piece by Robert Henke's Masters students from his course at the Berlin's University of the Arts, will be installed in the rehearsal space.

Already announced for the festival are Dean Blunt, Atom™, Ghédalia Tazartès, Skream feat Sgt Pokes, Demdike Stare, Holly Herndon, Forest Swords, Pete Swanson, People Like Us, Felix Kubin, Gatekeeper, Diamond Version, Emptyset, Florian Hecker, Heatsick, Jar Moff, Keith Fullerton Whitman, Lee Gamble, Matmos, Myrninerest and others.

The 2013 edition of CTM takes place 28 January–3 February, across various venues in Berlin. Full programme preview here.